Blog

Ode to the Compote

May 28, 2012
rustic compote centerpiece in pastel shades in milk glass vase on vintage chair

Just before Mother’s Day, a fellow Chapel Designer Isha from Isha Foss Events suggested we all create a compote design and take over the blogging world with them on May 29th. I L.O.V.E. love compotes so I was in! They are really great vessels to design in. These footed bowls serve as a beautiful foundation to a design. I love how they add just a bit of height and lift the flowers off the table ever so slightly. I also adore that I rarely depend on floral foam since learning how to design in a compote with a floral frog or pin frog.

So, I set out to design a compote. I knew I’d incorporate one of my vintage milk glass pieces and I wanted the design to be romantic and just a tad whimsical. Ever since my trip to NYC in March I’ve been obsessed with Russian Olive foliage. Its got the prettiest silver leaves and when it’s in bloom the smell is divine. When I tried to order some from my local wholesaler I was shot down. I may or may not have snipped these pretty stems from a local parking lot.

rustic arrangement close up of yellow columbine bloom

I also included ‘quicksand’ roses, ‘white majolica’ spray roses, white veronica, pale blush clematis and yellow columbine.

pastel double clematis bloom

So there you have it. Do you love the compote as much as we do? Be sure to stop by check out the eye candy on all the other Chapel Designers blogs too:

Isha Foss Events http://www.ishafoss.com/2012/05/floral-compotes.html

Flirty Fleurs http://www.flirtyfleurs.com/?p=9609

Holly Heider Chapple Flowers LTD http://thefullbouquetblog.com/?p=20905

Exquisite Designs http://www.exqdesigns.com/blog/?p=1900

Petals & Hedges http://petalsandhedges.com/blog/?p=868

Loda Floral Design http://lodadesigns.blogspot.com/2012/05/floral-compote-design.html

True Florette Floral Design http://trueflorette.com/compote/the-compote

Courtenay Lambert Florals http://courtenaylambert.blogspot.com/2012/05/art-of-compote-goes-national.html

Sebesta Design http://sebestadesign.wordpress.com/2012/05/29/the-classic-compote-arrangement/

Posh Floral Designs http://www.poshfloral.com/blog/compote-design/

 

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply